Travel Tips - Bhutan

Time Zone

GMT + 6 hours


The official language of Bhutan is Dzongkha, but Hindi is widely understood throughout the country.

Staff at airlines, railway, telecommunication counters and offices are usually fluent in English. Most direction signs usually have an English version too.


The units of Bhutanese currency are the Ngultrum and Chhetrum (100 Chhetrum equal 1 Ngultrum). Paper money is in denominations of Nu.1, Nu.5, Nu.10, Nu.20, Nu.50, Nu.100, Nu.500, and Nu.1000. Coins are in denominations of Ch.20, Ch.25, Ch.50 and Nu.1.


Tipping is not customary, but it is appreciated nevertheless.


For full details, please see Best Time to Go.


For up to date information on latest health and vaccination recommendations, please contact your doctor.


220 – 240 V

Arrival and Departure Formalities

All visitors must have valid passports stamped with current visas.

Select Your Home Region